Spring can really hang you up the most.

In the 6 months since I’ve posted (…), I’ve gotten my very first promotion, suffered through more than one Atlanta snowpocalypse, seen Lady Gaga, and gone on spring break. And started a new blog. At this moment, I’m sitting on my porch during what must be the last beautiful day before summer. This is all to say that there has been neither time nor place to blog on WordPress.

That said, I have been reading a bunch of interesting Internet pieces. Here are some:

  • This salmon recipe has CHANGED. MY. (culinary) LIFE. Cooking sous vide has always seemed more than a bit pretentious and inaccessible to me. It seems so obvious, but of course you don’t need an entire sous vide machine to experiment with the technique. You can literally poach salmon in a regular ol’ plastic bag for ~9 minutes with a deep skillet. I’ve used this method the past 2 nights and have been astounded by the results. One of those things that I can’t believe I didn’t think of before seeing a blog post about it.
  • Good news for my fellow liberal arts majors: here’s why companies are desperate to hire anthropologists. Since I’ve moved into a strategy role at work, I see clearly how important critical analysis skills are. Even in the seemingly soulless world of advertising! When I graduated, I didn’t know how my degree would come into play (or if it ever would). Well, okay, the actual French major hasn’t come to my rescue recently, but the skills I learned at Agnes Scott have proved invaluable in considering consumer motivation on a critical scale.
  • There’s no shortage of thinkpieces about the 1920s, but here’s video footage of NYC’s literary scene during that time. Fabulous.
  • 40 Books That Will Make You Want to Visit France. Enough said.
  • A nice link-filled piece on nostalgia & creativity.

Finally, if you don’t live in Atlanta, there’s a chance you haven’t heard about the impending demise of student programming over at WRAS 88.5 in favor of Georgia Public Broadcasting. While I’ve quietly hoped that Atlanta’s own NPR station (WABE) would incorporate some more talk radio in the afternoons, never in a thousand years would I have thought it would be at the expense of the city’s best radio station.

When I first moved to Atlanta for school in 2006, I was moving away from my then-boyfriend, best friends, and punk community with whom I identified in Tampa. To wit, since I grew up in the suburbs, my refuge from home was the local Borders (RIP). So the first memory I have of WRAS is of a moment that year outside the Borders parking lot in Poncey Highland. I found “I Don’t Care,” a long-running weekly punk show on 88.5, and almost cried at the poignant hurt of missing home and familiarity — but I’d found a parallel in Atlanta. So in a broad-sweeping metaphor, 88.5 brought me home again. I’ve grown a lot in 8 years (!!!), but I’ve remained loyal to 88.5. I wish Georgia State University could say the same.

See you in 6 months!

Leave a Reply

