On Mondays, self-awareness, tzatziki parties, and the Internet.

Another Monday is nearly over — but this one’s different; it’s my last Monday working on the 15th floor of the Equitable building (I can say with all certainty). It’s been a hard year, but a good growth experience. The whole thing could be summarized as “character-building,” but overall, I’ve acquired a new skill set and a few wonderful new friends. I’m thankful for the opportunity and inspired to move on, having become slightly more self-aware, at least in terms of my professional life. I’ve taken this time to learn what I really like doing, what I don’t mind doing, and what I would rather stab myself in the foot than do anymore. The overall goal being, of course, that I’ll end up doing mostly the things I really like doing, with but a smattering of ambivalence (and not much foot-stabbing), for longer than 1-year contracts allow.

I’m looking forward to the next step. With a little bit of luck, my next big adventure will be in a place that celebrates collaborative creativity, hard work, and the desire to grow and be better and never stop learning.

In other news, to break up my navel-gazing about a quarter-life crisis: for the past several weeks, my best friend, boyfriend and I have been holding a “Saturday Night Supper Club” on the porch balcony of my house. This weekend our friend Skyler was visiting from Tampa, and we made a gorgeous spread of fresh vegetables, brie, and lemony tzatziki while listening to my favorite kitchen music. Here’s a slightly grainy picture I took to commemorate the occasion:

I track what we make every weekend with #SaturdayNightSupperClub on Twitter, if you’d like to read about what we eat, or invite yourself to dinner.

What I’ve been reading on the Internet this week:

  • Reinventing Cities With a New Urban Language: I like thinking of ways to characterize Atlanta that would lead someone to say something is “so Atlanta,” a ‘city-turned-adjective,’ according to this piece.
  • Speaking of self-awareness! You know how people always complain about how kids these days don’t know how to have a face-to-face conversation? That type of crotchety remark can be annoying, but holds weight in terms of how we think about (and prioritize) our IRL relationships: “Before we could ever think of being ‘offline,’ we had to know what it meant to be online.
  • You drive cars. You drink espresso. You could do both AT THE SAME TIME. (Before anyone beats me to it, at the same damn time.) Also: I can’t tell if this is a terrible idea or not.
  • “We’re no longer changing the shape of the physical world or even of society. We are altering internal states, transforming the invisible self or its bodily container. Not surprisingly, when you step back and take a broad view, it often looks like stagnation—or decadence”: Maslow’s hierarchy of needs as they apply to our current state — an ongoing obsession with the “tools of the self.”  Here’s a handy graphic of author Nicholas Carr’s proposed “hierarchy of innovation”:

If you’re interested in seeing other pieces of the Web I enjoy on a more frequent basis, add me to your Google+ circles.

Leave a Reply

