thoughts of a dry brain in a dry season.

Between 2 computers, I’m constantly flipping between daily work, job applications and promoting the Nonprofit Summit; needless to say, I’ve been doing a lot of reading and skimming, and not a whole lot of personal writing. Because I have a self-mandated deadline to finish X amount of applications before Friday, I figured I’d just give a short list of things I’ve been reading/enjoying across the Internet in the past week — in the hope of getting things closer to a normal pace next week.

  • What Foodies Can’t Get (Not Even at Whole Foods).” If you’ve spent any time with me in the past year or so, you know I’ve gotten passionate about food access and how privilege can affect the dialogue around “good” food. This is definitely a topic I’ll be coming back to when I have more time to rant and rave – in the meantime, this post from the Midwest Sustainable Cities Symposium is excellent.
  • A 5-Step Technique for Producing Ideas, circa 1939. I’m not sure if I think it’s odd or not that what’s spurred me back into blogging has been advertising. Ad agency blogs, advertising books, agency-produced visuals. “Knowledge is basic-to-good creative thinking but that it is not enough, that this knowledge must be digested and eventually emerge in the form of fresh, new combinations and relationships…a good idea has, as it were, self-expanding qualities. It stimulates those who see it to add to it.”
  • I didn’t really have lunch today, so I’m thinking about food a lot. Here’s a great profile on Holeman & Finch bread. H&F demi-baguettes are $1 at the Grant Park and East Atlanta Village Farmer’s Markets, FYI.
  • Why we have a case of the Mondays. I get to work just before 9 every morning, but don’t really hit my stride until ~10, and can work solidly up until about 2:30. Before and after, it’s more or less system obliteration by caffeine.

Happy Monday. I’ll be home in Florida this weekend, enjoying St. Pete Beach with my mom. Until next time, here’s this:

One thought on “thoughts of a dry brain in a dry season.

Leave a Reply

